Well, folks, it’s about that time. I’m feeling the transition from everyday life here at this amazing place to reentering everyday life once more as a student at Asbury. I’m still a couple of weeks out from my own departure, but as coworkers are already departing and preparing to depart later this week, I’m definitely feeling the movement towards my own leaving. This summer has been amazing and I’ve still got some amazing things to do yet this summer before I can really call it all over. Yet, I’ve noticed certain thoughts even in my recent life here and in my thoughts of returning to school, the idea of “ordinary.” The routines are firmly established and the excitement that once accompanied me everywhere has dwindled into acceptance. Even in a place as amazing as Yellowstone, I struggle with the mundane. I get caught up in the little things and stop noticing the greater things around me. I’ve had to chastise myself for wanting to rush driving and complain about the traffic caused by tourists instead of taking the time to praise God as I drive through His beautiful handiwork as I once did. The bison and elk have become everyday sights and I’ve become accustomed to seeing them and think nothing more of it. Some days, work is just work and I forget to be intentional about the important ministry I’m supposed to be doing as I live my life here. Things settle into something less than spectacular. Yet, things don’t have to be this way. One thing I’ve learned here, and honestly, it’s amazing how many times I need to not only learn and relearn but actually apply this: the ordinary can be something special, if we let it. There are always those moments where what seems ordinary can be transformed into something more. These moments of transformation are what makes being incarnational and intercessional so necessary in our lives as Christians. When the presence of Christ is involved, things change. I think of Holy Communion where the ordinary elements of bread and wine (or grape juice, particularly Welsh’s…) represent and carry within their physicality something much greater that cannot be described without faith. The same miraculous transformation can happen daily in our lives. What difference our lives would make and what a difference in our lives would it make if we could remember that every moment is a moment that we could be sharing something much greater in the world than just ourselves, if we allow Christ to be within us and to allow Christ to flow from us, if we live our lives in such a way that we are Christ to those around us. This concept goes for every occupation, every person, every experience.

Earlier this week, I went out on a whim to go check my phone messages, even though I had only done so the day before. Yet, God created this opportunity for me to be in the right place at the right time for a few people, including myself. I talked to two friends who needed some encouragement and prayers that night, while I was on the side of the road where I could get phone signal. While I was there I got a message myself that shook me up a little, and when I went to go talk to someone about it, I got back at just the right time to speak with that person. And even though I sought this person out for myself, God was able to reverse the situation and I was there for her as a presence of Christ. God has shown me clearly that my time of ministry is not over yet, the opportunities are still there. There will always be a need for me to live in an intecessory and incarnational way, allowing Christ to work through me as He works in me. This will always be the case, whether I’m doing something ordinary or something that I would consider special, for with Christ, it’s always important, whether big or small.

Leave a Reply

